Function of the IRPC

The IRPC is responsible for monitoring compliance with the Cooperation Agreement of 4 November 2008 on the prevention and management of packaging waste. As a result of the sixth constitutional reform, the IRPC is also since 1 January 2015 the Belgian transit authority.

What are the tasks of the IRPC?

Prevention and management of packaging waste

It approves or rejects the (general) packaging prevention plans, evaluating them on the basis of objective criteria.

It grants or refuses to grant accreditation to packaging recovery organisations (PRO). Once the latter are formally accredited as a body for fulfilling the take-back obligation (aka the ‘waste recovery’ obligation), the IRPC audits their activities and may, where appropriate, suspend or revoke their accreditation if their performance is not satisfactory.

It monitors the way(s) in which the accredited PROs and the companies responsible for packaging meet statutory targets (expressed as a percentage) for the recycling and recovery of packaging waste.

  • All companies responsible for packaging that market at least 300 kg of packaging per year are subject to the take-back obligation (TBO). In other words, the obligation, enshrined in the Cooperation Agreement, to meet certain statutory targets (expressed as a percentage) for the recycling and recovery of the packaging that they have placed on the Belgian market;
  • A company responsible for packaging may either discharge the TBO itself or, alternatively, conclude an agreement with a non-profit organisation that has been accredited by the IRPC to fulfil the TBO.

It monitors compliance with the various reporting obligations.

It monitors compliance by the companies responsible for packaging, the accredited PROs, etc. with the provisions of the Cooperation Agreement.

  • It checks submissions for compliance and performs in-situ audits
  • It prepares official reports and imposes fines

It formulates proposals and expert advice for use by the regional governments, e.g. regarding legislative changes.

If requested to do so, it lends support to the regional governments for other TBOs

  • A consultative forum
  • Logistical support

 

Role as transit authority

As a result of the sixth constitutional reform, the IRPC is also since 1 January 2015 the Belgian transit authority. This means that it is involved in the notification procedures for cross-border movements of waste that include transit through Belgium. Transit through Belgium is defined as the shipment of waste that was not produced in Belgium and will not be processed there.

Interregional Packaging Commission (IRPC)

Fonction de la CIE

La responsabilité de la CIE est de contrôler le bon respect de l’Accord de coopération du 4 novembre 2008 concernant la prévention et la gestion des déchets d’emballages. Suite aux modifications liées à la 6ème réforme de l’Etat, la CIE remplit à présent aussi le rôle d’autorité belge compétente pour le transit de déchets depuis le 1er janvier 2015.

Quelles sont les missions de la CIE ?

Prévention et gestion des déchets d’emballages

Elle approuve ou refuse les plans généraux de prévention. La CIE évalue les plans de prévention sur la base de critères objectifs.

Elle octroie ou refuse les agréments aux organismes. Lorsque ceux-ci sont agréés en tant qu’organisme aux fins de remplir l’obligation de reprise, la CIE contrôle leur bon fonctionnement et peut, le cas échéant, retirer ou suspendre leur agrément.

Elle vérifie la manière dont les responsables d’emballages et les organismes agréés atteignent les pourcentages légaux de valorisation et de recyclage.

  • Tout responsable d’emballages d’un minimum de 300 kilos d’emballages par an est soumis à l’obligation de reprise, c’est-à-dire à l’obligation d’atteindre les pourcentages de recyclage et de valorisation fixés par l’Accord de coopération, pour les emballages qu’il a mis sur le marché belge.
  • Un responsable d’emballages peut remplir individuellement l’obligation de reprise ou adhérer, pour ce faire, à un organisme agréé (une a.s.b.l.) à cet effet par la CIE.

Elle contrôle le bon respect des diverses obligations d’information.

Elle contrôle le respect des dispositions de l’accord de coopération par les responsables d’emballages, les organismes agréés, etc.

  • Contrôler les déclarations, contrôles sur place
  • Etablir des P.V. et infliger des amendes

Elle formule propositions et avis à l’attention des gouvernements régionaux, en matière de modification de la législation par exemple.

Elle propose une assistance aux Régions pour d’autres obligations de reprise, si demandé.

  • Offre d’un forum de concertation
  • Soutien logistique

 

Rôle d’autorité en matière de transit

Suite aux modifications liées à la 6ème réforme de l’Etat, la CIE remplit à présent aussi le rôle d’autorité belge compétente pour le transit de déchets depuis le 1er janvier 2015. La CIE est ainsi impliquée dans les procédures de notification de transferts frontaliers de déchets, lorsque ces transferts entraînent un transit par la Belgique. Par transit par la Belgique, on entend: un transfert de déchets non générés sur le territoire belge, qui ne seront pas traités en Belgique.

Commission Interrégionale de L'Emballage (CIE)