The Interregional Packaging Commission

The Interregional Packaging Commission (or IRPC for short) is a public institution, jointly set up by the country’s 3 regional governments, namely the Walloon Region, the Flemish Region and the Brussels Region, in order to ensure a harmonized management of packaging waste.

The IRPC is composed of a decision-making body (DMB) and a Permanent Secretariat, whose role is to assist the decision-making body.

The decision-making body is composed of nine members. Each regional government appoints and revokes the appointment of three active members (and three deputies). Each year, the members of the decision-making body appoint, effective as from 5 March, a new Chairman from within their number. The Chairmanship rotates between the three Belgian regions. The decision-making body meets at least 10 times a year or at the express request of a member, and takes its decisions by consensus.

The Permanent Secretariat is composed of civil servants and members of staff who are placed at the disposal of the IRPC by each regional government to perform its administrative and technical tasks. Supervision of the day-to-day workings of the Permanent Secretariat rests with the director, appointed by the DMB, while each of the departmental managers (also appointed by the DMB) has a substantive job description, within which he (or she) prepares the policy. The management committee ensures the coherence of this policy across the various service departments.

Interregional Packaging Commission (IRPC)

La Commission Interrégionale de l'Emballage

La Commission Interrégionale de l’Emballage (CIE en abrégé) est une institution publique, fondée conjointement par les 3 Régions du pays, à savoir la Région wallonne, la Région flamande et la Région de Bruxelles-Capitale, en vue d’assurer une gestion harmonisée en matière de déchets d’emballages.

La CIE est composée d’un Organe de décision et d’un secrétariat permanent. Ce dernier a pour mission d’assister l’Organe de décision.

L’Organe de décision (OD) est composé de neuf membres. Chaque Gouvernement régional nomme et révoque trois membres effectifs (de même que trois membres suppléants) et chaque année, les membres de l’OD désignent en leur sein, à compter du 5 mars, un nouveau président en respectant une alternance entre les Régions. L’Organe de décision se réunit au moins 10 fois par an, ainsi qu’à la demande d’un membre, et prend ses décisions par consensus.

De son côté, le secrétariat permanent est composé de fonctionnaires et d’agents que chaque Gouvernement régional met à disposition de la Commission Interrégionale de l’Emballage pour l’accomplissement des missions administratives et techniques qui lui reviennent. Le directeur, nommé par l’Organe de décision, assure la gestion quotidienne du secrétariat permanent, tandis que les chefs de service (nommés également par l’Organe de décision) disposent chacun d’un profil de fonction au contenu déterminé leur permettant d’élaborer des stratégies. Le comité de direction permet d’assurer une cohérence stratégique entre les services.

Commission Interrégionale de L'Emballage (CIE)